A (Very) Short History of Life On Earth: 4.6 Billion Years in 12 Chapters

£9.9
FREE Shipping

A (Very) Short History of Life On Earth: 4.6 Billion Years in 12 Chapters

A (Very) Short History of Life On Earth: 4.6 Billion Years in 12 Chapters

RRP: £99
Price: £9.9
£9.9 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

As described on the cover, this is a very concise history of the forming of the Earth and the various ages it went through; including the evolution of life and the creatures we now know today (don't worry, the dinosaurs are in here too).

As more fish developed and began to form groups, there were three groups of bony fish, one of which became extinct, but another went on to become a set of animals that would move from sea and water onto land. Finally, after 4 1/2 billion years of mindless tumult, the Earth gave birth to a species that has become aware of itself. Gee puts the focus more on anatomical issues in the creatures he describes, whilst Halliday has achieved a more evocative, possibly imaginary - even poetic - view on the environment (which Gee does not neglect, thus the Snowball earths make as prominent appearances as the tectonic shifts).Billion Years in 12 Pithy Chapters, by Henry Gee, is an interesting little book on the history of life on Earth. In the tradition of Richard Dawkins, Bill Bryson, and Simon Winchester—An entertaining and uniquely informed narration of Life's life story. However, when most of life lived in the sea, the idea of moving to land would’ve been extreme and there wasn’t much land.

Mr Gee's text is really a summary that refers the reader onward to a comprehensive Notes section full of suggestions for further reading. Many people would argue that this single pole which would become the gut was the first brain that was formed. A (Very) Short History of Life is an enlightening story of survival, of persistence, illuminating the delicate balance within which life has always existed, and continues to exist today.

Gee has captivated my attention with this book, giving brief tidbits of information on life from the earliest points in their history, up to the present day. His earlier title The Accidental Species was a superbly readable and fascinating description of the evolutionary process leading to Homo sapiens. If you have already watched David Attenborough’s Life/Origin of life or Neil deGrasse’s Cosmos docuseries like me, then this book will act as a fantastic recap of the complex history of life on earth. billion years ago, even things started to strong together in the trillion to create reef structures visible from space. In the beginning, Earth was an inhospitably alien place―in constant chemical flux, covered with churning seas, crafting its landscape through incessant volcanic eruptions.

Illustration for "L'atmosphère : météorologie populaire" by Nicolas Camille Flammarion, Paris, 1888. Gee's descriptions are good, but I really missed having illustrations (for example, he refers to the 'strikingly beautiful' Dickinsonia - I wanted to see a drawing of one). And the human interior, despite its wide variation in acidity and temperature, is, in bacterial terms, a gentle place.Some of the names of long extinct creatures were tongue twisters but how amazing to have a freeze frame time chart of how life has evolved looking at time from an evolutionary perspective rather than our own time reference - life learning how to adapt and grow in the challenges of existing in a volatile (though sometimes balmy) but always changing planet. Against the backdrop of geological time,’ Gee reminds us, ‘the sudden rise of humanity is of negligible significance.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop