The Remnant Chronicles: The Kiss of Deception, the Heart of Betrayal, the Beauty of Darkness

£9.9
FREE Shipping

The Remnant Chronicles: The Kiss of Deception, the Heart of Betrayal, the Beauty of Darkness

The Remnant Chronicles: The Kiss of Deception, the Heart of Betrayal, the Beauty of Darkness

RRP: £99
Price: £9.9
£9.9 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

Pretty sure by now you all know what the big hook of this book is; you have no idea who the assassin is and who the prince is. I'll let you in on a little secret, I tried to guess and guessed wrong. A deeply satisfying, intricately plotted fantasy where no one – no one– is quite what they seem’ Robin LaFevers, New York Times-bestselling author of Grave Mercy

The prescribed liturgies passed as they were ordained, the rituals and rites as each had been precisely laid out, all a testament to the greatness of Morrighan and the Remnant from which it was born. I didn't protest. By this point, numbness had overtaken me, but then midday approached, and my heart galloped again as I faced the last of the steps that kept here from there. Princess Lia is a character that was literally more duller and lifeless than my personality. My friends said that she goes through an amazing character development from the beginning to the end of the book, but I felt nothing?? I don't exactly hate her character, but I just feel nothing for her because she is literally so non existent to me. She's a ghost.She always thinks about others first (especially her brothers and her friends), and she’s not afraid of getting her hands dirty. And it’s not like she always succeeds in doing whatever she has in mind, but she puts all herself in what she does. As the blurb states, princess Lia escapes the day of her arranged wedding because she doesn't want to abide by traditions and she doesn't want to marry someone she doesn't know. As she's adapting to her new life, she meets two guys, Rafe and Kaden, one of them is an assassin sent to kill her and the other is the prince she was supposed to marry; however, we don't know who's who. We have to find out the identities of who's who. I actually enjoyed searching for clues to find out who's who, and I had the wrong theory until a few chapters before the reveal. Well played, Mary E. Pearson, well played! Both boys made an impression on me right away. Rafe with his strength and bold choices, and persistence. Then Kaden with his sweet ways and kind heart. Now that I think about it I don't know if I would really call it a love triangle. I guess I would say they are both love interest. And yes, Lia starts off in the cliche fantasy princess role, but lets also not overlook the fact that she experiences a ton of growth. The character at the end of the book is entirely changed from the naive and idealistic teen she starts out as, and that's the point. The whole novel is proliferated by the thematic idea that events larger than ourselves destroy who think we are and change us into someone new. She had to start where she did or her arc wouldn't have worked.

Pearson (the Jenna Fox Chronicles) is off to an extraordinary start with her fantasy series, the Remnant Chronicles, creating an alluring world and romance that's ideal for fans of Kristin Cashore and Megan Whalen Turner." —Publishers Weekly Rafe was kind of the bad guy in this story. He was a little bit mean and sometimes he didn’t say the right thing. But again, that’s fine. We’re all not perfect. And Rafe isn’t either. In The Kiss of Deception, a new realm is masterfully created, featuring court intrigue, feuding nations, breathtaking landscapes, and the gift of sight. Fans of the Game of Thrones series will enjoy the magic and fantasy in this timeless dystopian world.” — VOYAThe aspect that told me that I'll have a fine time reading TKoD was actually its first line. Shattering dreams and forging new ones is my guilty pleasure and when a girl manages to accomplish that by fleeing on her wedding day, to say that I'm completely enraptured would be an understatement. I searched his face. The fleeting tenderness of just a moment past was gone, his thoughts already moving on to matters of state, but I held his gaze, hoping for more. There was nothing. I lifted my chin, standing taller. "Yes, I do serve the kingdom well, as I should, Your Majesty. I am, after all, a soldier in your army." Lia herself is a likeable heroine, and the selfishness in her act of leaving a kingdom in shambles for some future love is negated by her obvious naivete about political strategies and romantic relationships . . . Most intriguing are the two love interests, though, partly because of the way Pearson structures their narrating chapters.” — BCCB I'm literally never following my dreams again because they just want me to read bad books and suffer.

Kaden was by far my favorite male character. He has a soft side of him, the kind eyes and mercy. But he was still strong and loyal. The second half of this book is WAY stronger than the first. Lia starts to really figure out who she wants to be and how she wants people to see her. There is a grave digging scene in this book and it's really what put me on team Lia. It is beautiful and probably my favorite part of the whole story. Now you're probably thinking "wtf? why is she digging a grave?!" THE SUSPENSE!!! Told mainly from Lia’s POV, we follow her as she flees to a remote village on her wedding day. She is remarkably crafty in her last-minute escape, and her planning into it made me admire her more. I loved her strength, her witty and snarky attitude. Although fleeing could potentially put her kingdom at war – and one might think this a selfish act – I admire her brazen act and her dreams for more. She is far from a weak, prissy princess and it was so refreshing to have a bold yet likable character that goes after what she wants. The world snapped to silence. The tall grass waved above us, hiding us from view. He gazed down at me, his elbows straddling my sides, his chest brushing mine, his face inches away. My stomach lurched, and I shifted my gaze closer to the bottom of the hill, where wagons lumbered on the road far below the citadelle, heading toward the town square, perhaps laden with fruit, or flowers, or kegs of wine from the Morrighan vineyards. Fine carriages pulled by matching ribboned steeds dotted the lane as well.Maybe if I were raised in privilege I could've understood Lia's fascination with doing these mundane chores not really though, but I still wouldn't understand why on earth we were spending so much freaking time watching her do them. Where the hell is my escapism?

The Kiss of Deception has it all-- beautiful writing, heart-pounding suspense, a fiery princess, and an epic romance that'll make you swoon. This is definitely one of my favorite reads of the year!” — Alyson Noël, #1 New York Times–bestselling author of The Immortals Another thing I liked was that even though this is Fantasy and there's a bit of an Epic Journey to the book, it didn't feel like it. I guess what I mean is, I'm not a huge fan of some of those stories, because they tend to drag on and on and on. This one worked for me, mainly because the author didn't bother to describe every shrub or feel the need to go into detail about how the sunshine smelled. Ugh, this book. I rarely give much weight to fantasy titles. They're almost always called "dramatic word of dramatic word" or "dramatic word and dramatic word", but I realize in hindsight that I should have paid attention to The Kiss of Deception because, I kid you not, this book is all about kissing. And while I'm not overly concerned with the conventions of genre, I'm amazed that anyone can consider this a fantasy. Yes. This book could have been better, but it was too drawn out and I was waiting for something that never happened. Instead of breaking this into multiple books, there should have been more happening in this one book. By the time I cared what happened, it was almost over. I felt like this book was just a lead up to get me to buy the next book. If the next book was available now, I'd probably get it to see what happens since I invested so much time already. I think that I won't care anymore by the time the next book gets released.Enter the Prince and the Assassin, who just happened to show up at the same peaceful town by the sea, *the convenience is painful* searching for Lia. The Prince isn't old or decrepit like she was afraid of - he's handsome (oh wow, who would have ever thought). Lo and behold, the Assassin isn't too bad to look at, either! Could... there be... a love triangle? Could... both men... fall in love with Lia? *suspense* Maybe there was no one way to define it. Maybe there were as many shades of love as the blues of the sky,” The love triangle romance was too insta-lovey for my taste. Basically, these two guys fall head over heels for the princess with one look. I can maayyybee forgive the prince for being a shallow-arsed royal, but the assassin? Come on dude! You're an assassin!!! At least try to act like one. The wind knew. It was the first of June, but cold gusts bit at the hilltop citadelle as fiercely as deepest winter, shaking the windows with curses and winding through drafty halls with warning whispers. There was no escaping what was to come.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop