Mirrorland: the dark and twisty fiction debut from 2022's new voice in psychological suspense

£6.495
FREE Shipping

Mirrorland: the dark and twisty fiction debut from 2022's new voice in psychological suspense

Mirrorland: the dark and twisty fiction debut from 2022's new voice in psychological suspense

RRP: £12.99
Price: £6.495
£6.495 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

Unfortunately this meant that, for me, some aspects of the ending descended into cliché, which was a huge shame given how fresh and original the rest of the plot felt. has left Cat clues in almost every room: a treasure hunt that leads right back to Mirrorland, where she knows the truth lies crouched and waiting. As the treasure hunt clues force Cat to confront buried truths and secrets, were you surprised by how much was revealed and how successfully she’d managed to live a lie for so long? Instead of making our main character Cat a beaten down and depressed drunk whom no one trusts, Johnstone instead created a character that is both fragile and strong.

Behind it’s seemingly ordinary façade, 36 Westeryk Road is home to Mirrorland, a vivid make-believe world of populated by pirates, cowboys, and jailbirds- Bluebeard and Blackbeard, the brave and handsome Captain Henry, and the aptly named Mouse. As girls, they invented Mirrorland, a dark, imaginary place under the pantry stairs full of pirates, witches, and clowns. I will admit to getting freaked out on more than one occasion, but the magical element at the start of the book help ease us as the reader, as well as Cat, into the truth of the story. Although one of them might not be imaginary, and El’s husband – of course – had a fling with Cat before El’s previous suicide attempt. We also have a few peripheral characters, friends to El before she went missing that serve to illuminate that maybe everything in the marriage was less than perfect.As girls, they invented Mirrorland, a dark, imaginary place under the pantry stairs full of pirates, witches, and clowns. If you do want to try the Audiobook (it’s available on Scribd), I would suggest following along with the book until you get used to the switches. Pulford offers a vivid and accessible account that simultaneously places his observations into historical and political context, while also allowing the reader to experience, as a fellow traveller, his personal reflections. Combining a well-crafted mystery, a unique premise, and the compulsive readability of a thriller, Mirrorland is an impressive debut that is sure to appeal to fans of Tana French, Ruth Ware, Erin Kelly and Sarah Pinborough. As children they were inseparable, spending their time in Mirrorland, a place of magic and mystery where nothing is quite what it seems.

Books don’t always have to reinvent the wheel, but if you’re going to lean into familiar themes and ideas, I want a seamless execution. And everyone else fit into very familiar and well worn tropes we see in the genre without really exploring beyond. People are still looking at me, and I wonder if I've said it aloud, until I realize I'm shaking my head instead.With the startling twists of Gone Girl and the haunting emotional power of Room, Mirrorland is the story of twin sisters, the man they both love, and the dark childhood they can’t leave behind. Along remote roads, rivers and railways, in cosmopolitan cities and indigenous villages of the northeast Asian frontiers, Pulford maps the strikingly similar ways in which these two vast empires have ruled their Eurasian domains, before, during and after socialism. Having already seen Mogsy’s review and noticed that both of you did not feel quite comfortable with the Mirrorland setting, I keep wondering how I might react to it, particularly because both your descriptions make me think a little about Seanan McGuire alternate worlds in her Wayward Children series… I guess I will have to see for myself! Although occasionally difficult to sympathise with, I could understand Cat’s resentment of El, her fascination with Ross, and her wish to leave the past firmly in the past. Sorry, ma’am,” he says with a megawatt smile, managing to sound like he’s never been sorry a day in his life.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop